## IOWA DISTRICT COURT THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Chambers of Jeffrey A. Neary, Chairman Woodbury County Courthouse 620 Douglas, Room 210 Sioux City, IA 51101 Telephone: 712-279-6608

E-mail: Jeffrey.Neary@iowacourts.gov

## **NOTICE**

TO: All Applicants for 3B District Associate Judge Vacancy

DATE: July 9, 2024

On June 26, 2024, the State Commissioner of Elections provided the required statutory notice that the vacancy exists in the office of District Associate Judge for the 3B Judicial District due to District Associate Judge Todd Hensley's retirement from the bench. The person appointed to fill this vacancy will be expected to carry out any assignment made by the Chief Judge of the Third Judicial District that is within the jurisdiction of a district associate judge, as defined in Iowa Code Sections 602.6305 and 602.6306. However, it is anticipated that the appointee will be assigned and designated primarily in Woodbury County which will include criminal and juvenile court dockets.

To be considered by the Commission, the original completed application must be emailed to the District Court Administrator's office at d3judicialnominating.commis@iowacourts.gov no later than August 12, 2024 by 4:30 PM and a copy emailed to each Commissioner by that same date and time at the email addresses listed.

State prescribed application and instructions may be found at the following link: <a href="https://www.iowajnc.gov/district-commissions">https://www.iowajnc.gov/district-commissions</a>

No application will be accepted after <u>4:30 PM on August 12, 2024</u>, regardless of the reason. Any application, together with supporting documents and letters of support, must be emailed to the commissioners at the email addresses listed.

Applicants for the position must be members of the Iowa Bar and residents of 3B Judicial District or of a county contiguous to the 3B Judicial District. Applicants must also be of an age that will allow them to complete the initial term of office before reaching age seventy-two. The present salary for the position is \$147,520.00.

The 3B Judicial Nominating Commission has set <u>Tuesday</u>, <u>August 20</u>, <u>2024</u>, as the date for a meeting at which applicants for the position will be interviewed by the Commission. Following the interview,

the Commission will, in all probability, proceed by ballot to nominate two applicants for the position. The interviews and balloting will take place at the Woodbury County Courthouse, 620 Douglas St, Sioux City, IA.

The names of the two nominees will then be sent to the Governor, who has 30 days within which to appoint one of the two nominees to fill the vacancy.

The person appointed to the position will serve an initial term of one year after appointment and until January 1 following the next judicial election after expiration of such year, and the regular term of office of a District Associate Judge retained at a judicial election shall be six years from the expiration of the initial or previous regular term. Retirement of District Associate Judges in Iowa is mandatory at age seventy-two.

There is no requirement for applicants to personally interview the Commissioners, nor is there a requirement for applicants to obtain letters of support. It is up to each individual Commissioner to determine whether or not he or she will schedule personal interviews with applicants; however, the individual policy of a Commissioner in this regard is to be applied consistently to all applicants who request an interview in a <u>timely manner</u>.

To facilitate any personal contact with a commissioner which an applicant may wish to make, a complete list of names and email addresses of each Commissioner is provided below:

Chair: Jeffrey Neary, Jeffrey.Neary@iowacourts.gov
Chuck Holst, cholst@wialtel.net
Rick (Derrick)Franck, Derrick.Franck@outlook.com
Tammy Bramley, Bramley\_tammy@hotmail.com
Teresa Paulsrud, btpaulsrud@hotmail.com
Debra Rensink, Deb.Rensink@gmail.com
Patrick Phipps, Patphipps@netins.net
Jessica Zupp, Jessica@zuppandzupp.com
Colby Lessmann, Clessmann@siouxcitylawyers.net
Frank Tenuta, ftenuta@iowalaw.org
Rosalynd Koob, Roz.koob@heidmanlaw.com

Jeffrey A. Neary

Jeffrey A. Neary, Chair Third District 3B Judicial Nominating Commission