Notice to Candidates

On April 5, 2024, Governor Reynolds notified the State Judicial Nominating Commission of a vacancy on the Iowa Court of Appeals that has arisen due to the retirement of Chief Judge Thomas Bower.

To be considered for balloting, a candidate for nomination to the Iowa Court of Appeals must email to the Commission and all Commissioners a <u>single</u> PDF version of the completed Joint Judicial Application that includes all attachments thereto, a <u>single</u> PDF version of the Judicial Background Application that includes all attachments thereto, and a <u>single</u> PDF version of any writing samples, which must be received by the Commission and the Commissioners by 11:59 P.M. on May 20, 2024. The candidates shall email copies to the Commission at the following email address: <u>sinc@iowa.gov</u>. The candidates shall email each Commissioner copies to the Commissioner's email address as it appears on this notice.

The Joint Judicial Application and the Joint Judicial Background Information forms are available on the State Judicial Nominating Commission website found at https://www.iowajnc.gov/state-commission.

Candidates are given notice that the Commission will treat the Joint Judicial Application part of the Application a public record. The Joint Judicial Application will be posted on the judicial branch website and on the SJNC website at the time the names of all candidates are released for public comment.

Members of the public are encouraged to email the Commissioners at the email addresses for the Commissioners listed below in this notice, asking the Commission to consider an applicant for nomination and expressing views of such candidate. Please note that comments provided to the Commissioners may be subject to disclosure pursuant to Iowa's Open Records Laws. To be considered, communications from the public must be received by the Commissioners by 11:59 P.M. on May 25, 2024. The Commissioners look favorably on emailed, rather than mailed communications.

The Commission has set aside May 28 and 29, 2024, to publicly interview the candidates. In the event that all interviews can be scheduled in one day, interviews will be held on May 29, 2024. Balloting to select a slate of five nominees will take place immediately following the public interviews. The interviews will be held in the Supreme Court courtroom and will be open to the public. The interviews will also be streamed live on the Internet.

The names and email addresses of the Commission members, Chairperson, and Secretary are:

Chairperson
Janece Valentine
515.955.5544
jvalentine@valentinelaw.net

Secretary
Brett Roberts
312-291-6014
broberts@fredlaw.com

Commissioners

Joshua Boyer b6pllc@gmail.com

Jen Chase 319-234-2638 jchase@ballkirkholm.com

Isaac DeFord 515-745-0864 DeFord@cflaw.com

Dustin Graber 515-979-7178 Dustin.graber7@gmail.com

Bradley Hartkopf 712-249-8589 bradley_hartkopf@hotmail.com

Cheryl Hanson 563-379-0880 djcjhanson@yahoo.com

Nancy Henderson 641-780-1145 ntld50@gmail.com

Ashley Hoegh 507-391-1253 ahoegh@w-sioux.k12.ia.us

Kelsey A.W. Marquard 563-355-6060 kawm@emprights.com

Alfredo Parrish

515-284-5737 aparrish@parrishlaw.com

Garrett Piklapp 515-432-2634 ext. 436 garrett.piklapp@gmail.com

Jerry Schnurr 515-576-3977 jschnurr@schnurrlawfirm.com

Tim Semelroth 319-365-9200 tsemelroth@fightingforfairness.com

Leon Spies 319-337-4193 spies@spiespavelich.com

Kristina Stanger 515-283-8009 stangersjnc@nyemaster.com