# **Iowa Judicial Branch**

# **Application for a Judicial Magistrate Position**

Revised: 11-27-2022

# **Instructions for Applicants**

The County Magistrate Appointing Commission for Polk County is currently accepting applications for a **Magistrate** position.

There are four parts to the application. Each part is a separate document.

**Part 1: Personal Background Information Form**. This form provides the County Magistrate Appointing Commission(s) with an applicant's pertinent background information. The Commission will treat this part as a **public record** pursuant to Iowa Code section 22.1(3), so it will be available to the public upon request. If you believe you cannot fully respond to a question in Part 1 without disclosing information that is confidential under state or federal law, please submit that part of your answer with the legal basis for confidentiality on a separate sheet that you mark "confidential."

Part 2A: Confidential Information Form. Part 2B: Confidential Information, Disclosure and Release Form. Part 3: Credit Search Authorization Form.

#### How to obtain the forms:

All four forms are Microsoft Word documents. To obtain the electronic versions of the forms please visit the following website: <u>https://www.iowajnc.gov/district-commissions/judicial-district-5</u>

### How to complete the forms using MS Word and deliver them to the Commission:

- (1) Type your response in the box immediately after or next to each numbered question or item.
- (2) After completing each form, print a copy of each and *sign* each part on the last page.
- (3) Scan Parts 1, 2A, 2B, and 3. Save each form as a PDF document using the following format for naming the documents:

[Lastname]-Part1.pdf [Lastname]-Part2A.pdf [Lastname]-Part2B.pdf [Lastname]-Part3.pdf

 (4) Save at least two writing samples (see #37 in Part 1) as PDF documents using this filename format: [Lastname]-WritingSample1.pdf
[Lastname]-WritingSample2.pdf

(5) Email Parts 1, 2A, 2B, and 3 plus the two writing samples to: Judge Heather Lauber, Commission Chair, at: <u>Heather.Lauber@iowacourts.gov</u> as well as to the other members of the commission: Gina Christensen Messamer <u>gmessamer@parrishlaw.com</u>; Sharon Wegner <u>sharon.wegner@gmail.com</u>; Kittie Weston-Knauer <u>kittieknauer@aol.com</u>; Linda Carter-Lewis <u>linslex50@gmail.com</u>; Skylar Mayberry-Mayes <u>skylarmm@gmail.com</u>; and Heather Fredericksen <u>Heather.Fredericksen@iowacourts.gov</u>.

(6) Applications must be submitted no later than July 18<sup>th</sup>, 2024, at 4:00 PM.