THE IOWA DISTRICT COURT SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE, SCOTT COUNTY COURTHOUSE

400 WEST FOURTH STREET DAVENPORT, IA 52801-1104 PHONE | (563) 326-8783 FAX | (563) 326-8218

Honorable Henry W. Latham II Chief District Court Judge Danny Davis District Court Administrator Danny.Davis@iowacourts.gov

District Judges

Hon. Marlita A. Greve Hon. Thomas G. Reidel Hon. John D. Telleen Hon. Joel W. Barrows Hon. Mark R. Lawson Hon. Henry W. Latham II Hon. Stuart P. Werling Hon. Patrick A. McElyea Hon. Mark R. Fowler Hon. Tamra J. Roberts Hon. Jeffrey D. Bert Hon. Meghan K. Corbin

District Associate Judges

Hon. Gary P. Strausser Hon. Christine Dalton Hon. Cheryl E. Traum Hon. Korie L. Talkington Hon. Kimberly K. Shepherd Hon. Michael E. Motto

Senior Judges

Hon. Mark D. Cleve

Magistrates

Hon. R. Douglas Wells Hon. Michael M. Judge Hon. Cynthia Z. Taylor Hon. Stephen P. Wing Hon. John E. Wunder Hon. Christine D. Frederick Hon. Eric C. Svverud Hon. Elizabeth A. Srp Hon. Paul A. Aitken Hon, Joel A. Walker Hon. Sarah E. Oldsen Hon. Katie Reidy Abel Hon. Kyle R. Maurer Hon. Catherine Z. Cartee Hon. Peter G. Gierut Hon. Brian C. Wright Hon. Ryan M. Beckenbaugh Hon. Jay Sommers Hon. Lynne C. Jasper

Chambers of Thomas G. Reidel

NOTICE

TO: All Applicants for District Judge Vacancy

DATE: May 15, 2024

On May 3, 2024, the State Commissioner of Elections provided the required statutory notice that a vacancy exists in the office of District Judge for the Seventh Judicial District due to the retirement of Judge Marlita A. Greve.

To be considered by the Commission, the original completed application must be emailed to the District Court Administrator at danny.davis@iowacourts.gov no later than 3:00 p.m., June 14, 2024 and a copy sent to each Commissioner by that same date and time at the email addresses listed. State prescribed applications and instructions may found at the following link:

https://www.iowajnc.gov/district-commissions/judicial-district-7

No application will be accepted after June 14, 2024 at 3:00 p.m., regardless of the reason. Any application, together with supporting documents and letters of support, must be sent to the Commissioners at the email addresses listed.

Any applicant who applied recently for Judge Telleen's vacancy may make application by letter stating their intention to apply also for this vacancy. Such applicants may request that all materials and references forwarded in support of their previous application be considered in support of this application, without resubmission of such materials. Of course, applicants are free also to submit additional materials if they wish.

Applicants for the position must be members of the Iowa Bar and residents of the Seventh Judicial District or of a county contiguous to the Seventh Judicial District. They must also be of an age that will allow them to complete an initial term of office and one regular six-year term of office before reaching age seventy-two. The present salary for the position is \$158,056.

The Seventh Judicial District Nominating Commission has set June 21, 2024, as the date for a meeting at which applicants for the position will be interviewed by the Commission. Following the interviews, the Commission will, in all probability, proceed by ballot to nominate two of the applicants for the position. The interviews and balloting will take place at the Scott County Courthouse, 400 W 4th Street, Davenport, IA.

THE IOWA DISTRICT COURT SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE, SCOTT COUNTY COURTHOUSE

400 WEST FOURTH STREET DAVENPORT, IA 52801-1104 (563)326-8783 FAX (563)326-8218

The names of the two nominees will then be sent to the Governor, who has 30 days within which to appoint one of the two nominees to fill the vacancy.

The person appointed to the position will serve an initial term of office and will stand for retention at the next general election held not less than one year following appointment. If retained in office at that time, the person will serve a regular term of six years and may stand for retention in office every six years thereafter. Retirement of District Judges in Iowa is mandatory at age seventy-two.

There is no requirement for applicants to personally interview with Commissioners, nor is there a requirement for applicants to obtain letters of support. It is up to each individual Commissioner to determine whether or not he or she will schedule personal interviews with applicants; however, the individual policy of a Commissioner in this regard is to be applied consistently to all applicants who request an interview in a timely manner. Letters in support of or in opposition to an applicant shall be directed to Judge Thomas Reidel (Scott County Courthouse, 400 W 4th Street, Davenport, IA, 52801 or danny.davis@iowacourts.gov), with copies sent directly to each Commissioner by email.

To facilitate any personal contacts which an applicant may wish to make with a Commissioner, a complete list of the names and email addresses of each Commissioner is provided below:

Brad Bark Bill Schemers Muscatine, IA Clinton, IA

<u>bbark@muscatine.com</u> <u>bschemers@cityofclintoniowa.gov</u>

Patricia Barglof Mery Kies Bennett, IA LaMotte, IA

<u>barglofpatricia@gmail.com</u> <u>merkies@netins.net</u>

Michelle Crawford John Singer Eldridge, IA Bettendorf, IA

michellecrawfordiowa@gmail.com jsinger@wkclawfirm.com

Kylie Franklin Joshua Reicks
Davenport, IA Maquoketa, IA
Kfranklin@hhlawpc.com jreicks@srbk.com

William Bush Mikkie Schiltz Davenport, IA Davenport, IA

wjbushlaw@yahoo.com mschiltz@l-wlaw.com

Thomas Reidel

Thomas Reidel, Chair Seventh District Judicial Nominating Commission