IOWA DISTRICT COURT FOURTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Chambers of Jeffrey L. Larson
Pottawattamie County Courthouse
227 South 6th Street, Room 413
Council Bluffs, Iowa 51501
Telephone (712)328-5756
E-Mail: Jeffrey.Larson@iowacourts.gov

NOTICE

TO: All Applicants for District Associate Judge Vacancy

DATE: May 22, 2024

On May 17, 2024, the State Commissioner of Elections provided the required statutory notice that a vacancy exists in the office of District Associate Judge for the Fourth Judicial District due to District Associate Judge Justin Wyatt's appointment to the District Bench. This District Associate Judge position will primarily consist of coverage in counties other than Pottawattamie.

To be considered by the Commission, the original completed application must be emailed to the District Court Administrator at laura.kyndesen@iowacourts.gov no later than 3:00 p.m., Wednesday, June 12th, 2024, and a copy emailed to each Commissioner by that same date and time at the email addresses listed. State prescribed applications and instructions may be found at the following link:

https://www.iowajnc.gov/district-commissions/judicial-district-4

No application will be accepted after **Wednesday**, **June 12th**, **2024**, **at 3:00 p.m.**, regardless of the reason. **Any application**, **together with supporting documents and letters of support**, **must be emailed to the Commissioners at the email addresses listed**.

Applicants for the position must be members of the Iowa Bar and residents of the Fourth Judicial District or of a county contiguous to the Fourth Judicial District. Applicants must also be of an age that will allow them to complete the initial term of office before reaching age seventy-two. The present salary for the position is \$140,495.00.

The Fourth Judicial District Nominating Commission has set **Tuesday**, **June 18th**, **2024**, as the date for a meeting at which applicants for the position will be interviewed by the Commission. Following the interviews, the Commission will, in all probability, proceed by ballot to nominate two applicants for the position. The interviews and balloting will take place at the Pottawattamie County Courthouse, 227 South 6th Street, Council Bluffs, Iowa.

The names of the two nominees will then be sent to the Governor, who has 30 days within which to appoint one of the two nominees to fill the vacancy.

The person appointed to the position will serve an initial term of one year after appointment and until January 1 following the next judicial election after expiration of such year, and the regular term of office of a District Associate Judge retained at a judicial election shall be six years from the expiration of the initial or previous regular term. Retirement of District Associate Judges in Iowa is mandatory at age seventy-two.

There is no requirement for applicants to personally interview with Commissioners, nor is there a requirement for applicants to obtain letters of support. It is up to each individual Commissioner to determine whether or not he or she will schedule personal interviews with applicants; however, the individual policy of a Commissioner in this regard is to be applied consistently to all applicants who request an interview in a <u>timely manner</u>. Letters in support of or in opposition to an applicant shall be directed to Judge Jeffrey L. Larson (Pottawattamie County Courthouse, 227 South 6th Street Room 413, Council Bluffs, IA 51501), with copies sent directly to each Commissioner by e-mail and must be received no later than Friday, June 14th, 2024.

To facilitate any personal contact with a commissioner which an applicant may wish to make, a complete list of the names and email addresses of each Commissioner is provided below:

Chair: Jeffrey Larson, jeffrey.larson@iowacourts.gov

Zac Buttercase, zbuttercase@hotmail.com

Grant Dean, gdean@glenwoodstatebank.com

Amanda Heims, amandaheims07@gmail.com

Jon Heisterkamp, jeheisterkamp@yahoo.com

Drew Munger, <u>drewmunger@gmail.com</u>

Deborah Nelson, jiffymart@hotmail.com

Patricia Scheinost, tricia@southwestiowalawoffice.com

Lilly Richardson-Severn, lrs@lrslawgroup.com

Kathleen Schomer Kohorst, kate@kohorstlaw.com

David Wiederstein, david@southwestiowalaw.com

Jeffrey L. Larson
JEFFREY L LARSON, Chair
Fourth District Judicial Nominating Commission