NOTICE OF JUDICIAL VACANCY 2A District Associate Judge

All, you are notified that Governor Kim Reynolds announces an upcoming vacancy in a district associate judge position in Iowa Judicial Sub-District 2A. This vacancy will arise due to the upcoming retirement of District Associate Judge Peter Newell.

The Nominating Commission for Judicial Sub-District 2A met on June 24, 2024, to outline procedures and timelines to fill the vacancy. Applications will be accepted from July 1 until July 24, 2024, at 4:00 p.m. Any interested and eligible attorney (as defined by Iowa Code section 602.6305) is encouraged to apply. The public is encouraged to submit comments regarding any applicant to the commission members.

The jurisdiction of district associate judges is set out in Iowa Code Section 602.6306. The appointed judge will typically manage criminal and juvenile cases, some magistrate matters, and other case and administrative work as assigned by the chief judge of the district. The primary counties of coverage will be Bremer, Butler, and Franklin.

The website of the Nominating Commission can be found at https://www.iowajnc.gov/district-commissions/judicial-district-2. From the website, applicants may download a copy of the instructions for applicants, application form, background information form, and the Uniform Rules of Procedure of the District Court Nominating Commission. Applicants should familiarize themselves with the Rules.

All application materials, supporting writing samples, and letters of recommendation must be submitted via email as directed in the Instructions for Applicants. The submitted application materials will be posted on the Judicial Nomination Commission website. Materials deemed confidential will not be posted.

Interviews will be conducted on Friday, August 2, 2024, at 9:00 a.m. at the Cerro Gordo County Courthouse in Mason City, Iowa. Applicants will be notified of interview details. The Commission will allow each applicant twenty minutes to interview.

If an applicant or any member of the public desires additional information or assistance, please contact Scott Hand, District Court Administrator for the Second Judicial District at 641-494-3611 or via email at scott.hand@iowacourts.gov.

The Commission members are:

Hon. Colleen D. Weiland Chair colleen.weiland@iowacourts.gov Mason City, IA

Diane Gasteiger <u>dmgastei@gmail.com</u> St. Ansgar, IA

Diane C. Thompson tndfarms@wctatel.net Forest City, IA 52436

Emily Schmitt <u>emily.sukup@gmail.com</u> Clear Lake, IA 50428

Tom Detamore, Jr. detamorejr@gmail.com
Aplington, IA 50604

Danielle M Ellingson <u>danielle@nsslaw.net</u> Charles City, IA 50402-0270

Crystal L. Ely <u>cely@dhs.state.ia.us</u> Mason City, IA 50401

Andrew Johnston
<u>ajohnston@lairdlawfirm.com</u>
Mason City, IA 50401

Heather A. Prendergast heather@neialaw.com
Denver, IA

John Lander <u>jplander@iabar.org</u> Mason City, IA